Legal Question in Criminal Law in New York

In NYS. I paid a $400 retainer to a lawyer for a traffic summons. No cancellation policy disclosed or fees upfront. I cancelled one week after payment to credit card. Lawyer charged me $100 cancellation fee for "work performed". I made a complaint to the BBB and credit card company. He insists that I owe him this money no matter how excessive, 25% payment for 0.01% work completed. He said it would take 1.5 year. Seems illegal and unethical to me.

Thanks

Lawquestion1@gmail.com

Asked on 6/20/11, 4:20 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

peter bark bark & karpf
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

$100 sounds reasonable to me. I assume you spoke to him for at least a half hour. That alone would justify $100 fee.

Read more
6/21/11, 6:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now