New York | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
Defamation and Discrimination Lawsuit
I currently have a lawyer working on putting my claim together for defamation and discrimination suit. I along with 4 other employees are the plaintiffs. This particular lawsuit is within the NASD jurisdiction. I was terminated on April 15th 2004, I filed my own lawsuit to the NASD without a lawyer in September 2004 with no other plaintiffs.When things got to the point that I needed a lawyer I had retained one and from there the lawyer closed out the claim and now is currently putting the pieces together for a new claim. Here is my concern now: In ''April 15th 2007'' It would have been 3 years since my termination, would my claim along with the other plaintiffs be lost meaning we could no longer seek damages? Is there a statute of limitations for this kind of complaints? Basically if my lawyer does not file before April 15th 2004 will I lose my case?
Please if you can provide me with accurate law information I would be greatly thankful.


