New York | Education Law
Legal Question
16 year old student loan?
My husband got a bill from his college (in NH) collection agency for ~ $6K ($2K + $4K). A previous bill said something about Pell Grant. He never graduated and left the school in 1991 and started getting the bills in 2005. Its been so long he doesn't even know if he really owes this and he doesn't have any of his school records any more. Is there a statute of limitations since they waited so long to contact? What do you suggest he do next? Thanks!


