New York | Education Law
Legal Question
Attendance in a Committee on Special Education Meeting & Development of an IEP
I am a secretary for the special education department in a Westchester county school district. I am required to take minutes at a special education meeting, transcribe those minutes and partially develop the IEP. It has been brought to my attention by my director that this is illegal for a secretary to do, however, I am still required to do it. This puts the district in jeopardy of legal action but what about me? Can my employer tell me to do something that they know is illegal and what position does that put me in by doing it when I am also aware of it being illegal? Please help!!!


