New York | Education Law
Legal Question
School Won't Deal With Step-mom
We just moved to NY from PA.I enrolled my step-son into 6th Gr.We had no problems, until I started complaining about somthing a teacher did.I also wrote a letter to the CSE director concerned about my stepson's special ed program. Well, I never got a responce for my letter, but I did get paperwork saying they could not and would not deal with me concerning my stepson because I am only the stepmom.His mother is not involved and his dad works out of town all week. I am all he knows right now, and I am the one who raises him day to day.They sent me paperwork saying it had to be signed and notarized by the father and mother giving me legal guardianship.Can they do this?We didn't have this problem in PA. They always delt with me with no problem.The school has spoken to both parents and know that they are ok with me I taking care of his school needs and doctor appts.ect.. What should I do? Why should 2 parents give me guardianship when they have joint custody? Are they trying to make trouble since i started trouble?


