New York  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
12/17/03, 2:17 pm

Legal Question


Comedy Central's South Park cartoon containing heavily discriminating songs agai

To whom it may concern,

I have recently bought the DVD set of Comedy Central's South Park Seasons 1 thru 3. In this set, they have a few very disturbing audio tracks which particularly are aimed at Muslims, Hindus and Shintos. The sound track is called, ''Merry *@#$^% Christmas!'' and sings about how other religions should be pitied for not sharing the same belief as christians do. Furthermore, Comedy Central 3 weeks ago released another airing of their ''Tough Crowd with Colin Quinn'' show where they had a comedian (Nick Di Paolo) make jokes and belittle the Muslim people.

I was wondering what could be done as far as legal action goes to take on Comedy Central; so they might have more respect for other religions. I am aware in our beautiful country freedom of speech exists, but one must not forget that famous Confichius saying, ''One's freedom ends when it disturbs another''. I am personally at awe that the owners of Comedy Central(MTV Networks) would allow such disgrace.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search