New York | Medical Leave
Legal Question
I live in NJ but work for the City of New York and belong to DC-37. Under FMLA, am I eligible for any paid beneifts for my child birth? What about health insurance during FML?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Randall Brett |
I am not familiar with "DC-37"; I assume it is a union.
Under FMLA, leave is unpaid although if your employer offers sick leave benefits, you could be paid for part or all of the time off. You may be referring to New Jersey's Family Leave Insurance Law. However, to receive payments under it you must be working in New Jersey as the premium for this insurance is deducted from your paycheck.
You are allowed to keep your health insurance in force during the leave and you are responsible for making your normal cost-sharing contributions. Your employer will provide you with the procedural details. |
Top Attorneys in NY
Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1703
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of Mark S. Moroknek *
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Offices of Jason Stern
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Rosenberg & Press L.L.C.
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 335
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-24
Law Office of Randall P. Brett
Princeton, NJ
Questions Answered: 250
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-31
Morgan & Morgan, P.A.
Davie, FL
Questions Answered: 117
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-04
Law Offices of Michael B. Green, Esq.
Seaford, NY
Questions Answered: 35
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-22
Search Questions and Answers


