New York | Immigration Law
Legal Question
I want to petition for my mother. But my mom lives with my half sister thats a minor. Will i be able to petition for them together? how does it work so they come together?
I want to petition for my mother. But my mom lives with my half sister thats a minor. Will i be able to petition for them together? how does it work so they come together?
|
Read More Answered By: Luba Smal |
If you are a US citizen, you can petition for a mother and a sister (separately for each of them, and under different visa categories). However, your mother will be able to immigrate to USA within a year, while your sister will need to wait abroad for additional 10-11 years (or longer, depending on her country of birth). Your mother cannot take a minor child with her. In her visa category, it's not allowed.
If you’d like to schedule a telephone legal consultation, please let me know, and I’d be glad to help: Attorney [@] law-visa-usa.com
Note: The above response is provided for legal information purposes only and should not be considered as legal advice. This response doesn’t create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of a fee. If a follow-up advice on your specific situation and regarding U.S.A. immigration-related issues is requested, we can offer a paid consultation by telephone or email to clients from all States and globally. Please visit our website http://www.law-visa-usa.com/contact_us.html for more details. Our contact email address is Attorney [@] law-visa-USA.com
|
|
Read More Answered By: Antoinette Wooten |
I would need more information regarding your particular case before I could comment on it properly.
You indicate that you want to petition for your mother, but you did not make it clear if she is here in the US or abroad.
You also indicate that you want to petition for your half sister. However, you did not say whether she is here in the country or her age. How hold she is?
If you are a US citizen and you petition for your mother it should not take more than 14 months to conclude the process.
If your sister is the birth child of your mother, then when you file for your mother you can add her on to the petition as a family member.
If she was adopted, then your mother will have to provide documentation supporting the fact that it was a legal adoption.
Patricia Martin-Gibbons Sent from My Verizon Wireless Blackberry
|
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 1043
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
White Plains, NY
Questions Answered: 364
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 335
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-24
Brooklyn, NY
Questions Answered: 281
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
Brooklyn, NY
Questions Answered: 176
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
► Hi, I live in NYC and am a Permanent Resident. My boyfriend is from France and under...
► My 10 year greencard is going to expire within 2 months. 5 years back I paid a fine...
► Is there's a bill expected to be pass so that persons who are living in the united...
► Hello i live in brooklyn i have an immigratiom appointment soon and i lost my i 94...
► Where in New York City can I find free immigration processing help...I found one...
► I am married to US citizen, and we 3 children. I came to this country legalley 10...
► If a person entered the US on a visitor visa in 1997. Violated his terms of the visa...
More Immigration Law questions and answers in New York| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press