New York | Employment Law
Legal Question
deceptive hiring
I was hired as a manager for a retail corporation two weeks ago. The company recruited me through an online headhunter service, however, no where in the job description did it stipulate working mandatory weekends. Two weeks later they are now telling me that I have to work weekends. I am a seventhday adventist (I worship on saturdays) and will make no compromise regarding my religion. What are my rights in this situation? do they have legal grounds to fire me if they so choose?
Furthermore, the point of the issue is that the information that am now receiving as part of the job description was never discussed (not from me or them). Since I've worked in retail before and had no qualms about this issue, I assumed (I told my boss I can't work saturdays) it would be fine.


