lawyer fees
in a accident case, can a lawyer recieve more than 1/3 of the judgment, and if so, under what circumstances can that be done.
thank you, in advance for your time and attention.
|
Read More Answered By: Mark S. Moroknek |
Re: lawyer fees Generally in a negligence caase, the retainer will be 33.3 % (1/3) plus the expenses the attorney has paid. However, there is another approved form called a sliding scale, not used by most attorneys for simple negligence cases.
The only other way an attorney can get more then 1/3 if he has a 1/3 retainer is if he did an exceptionally large amount of work on the case, and 1/3 is inadequate. He can try to ask the court for it, but rarely is it granted. |
Hewlett, NY
Questions Answered: 4227
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1703
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 335
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-24
Commack, NY
Questions Answered: 274
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Princeton, NJ
Questions Answered: 250
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-31
Wellington, FL
Questions Answered: 197
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-07
Manhasset, NY
Questions Answered: 134
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 126
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
► Rights of Children to See Parent Who is Bedridden My eldest sister and I have been...
► Suing Small Claims out of State Dear unknown attorney, I am the owner of a...
► Re: damages done during move I moved from Mass to AZ. The moving company is located...
More Mediation questions and answers in New York| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press