New York | Product Liability
Legal Question
Individual property rights
Are there any legal charges that can be brought against an individual that finds lost property, contacts the owner through another party for them to come pick it up, but the person changes their mind and decides to keep the property they found?
Scenario -
Person A lost their cellphone.
Person B finds it.
Person C, who knows Person A, calls cellphone and speaks to Person B who gives Person C their contact information for Person A to call them to get the cellphone.
Person A calls Person B who tells Person A that they will call them back. Person A never hears from Person B - voicemails are not returned either.


