New York  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
8/17/09, 10:20 am

Legal Question


Hi

Issued a summons for "improperly wearing a seatbelt" NYSVTL 1229c3a. The top shoulder harness was placed below the nipple due to a left shoulder injury which causes severe pressure and throbbing on the shoulder. (In fact I received the injury after wearing the full harness and the airbag going off at 40mph- I could not lift my arms or turn my head to the right for almost a year) I am also a left handed.

What would an Doctors note (NYSVTL1229c 3a 7) have to say and is a court appearance necessary or can I just submit the note with a plea of not guilty?

OR

is a seatbelt considered vehicle equipment whereby if get it adjusted ("fixed") and can wear it on my shoulder submit the repair bill and get it dismissed?

Which will help me the most? I thank you so much


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search