Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in New York

my dad passed away 10 yrs ago in ny state. in his will he andy aunt inherited at family house in nyc from my aunt when she died . wheny dad died he left 40% to my mom and 5 % each to me and m brother . we are selling the house but we found out my mom never probated his will 10 yrs ago will there be back taxes or a inherint tax on the property since it was transfered to us in his will

Asked on 9/13/13, 1:49 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Depends on value of the house, but doubtful. There may be a tax when you sell your share.

Read more
9/14/13, 12:55 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now