Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in New York

My father passed away in February, and I continued to drive his car registered in his name (my only car, I am a 22 year old recent college graduate). I am now being told that in the next coming months, I will have to actually buy the car from his estate (an estate that will be under my full control when I turn 25). Either that, or the car can be liquidated and that money would go into the estate. I am just not so sure how this is logical - given that my father named me sole beneficiary in his will. Is there any way to prevent this from happening?

Asked on 9/11/13, 7:15 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Has the estate gone to probate? If so, the car should be given to you by the Executor per the will. You must register it in your name.

Read more
9/12/13, 4:23 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88177 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now