Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in New York

we jointly own marital residence. Deceased spouse's bank accts have beneficiaries listed. Assets pass to surviving spouse. must survivor pay off deceased spouse's credit cards if he is sole debtor on those accounts?

Asked on 8/11/13, 5:48 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Arnold Nager Arnold H. Nager, Esquire
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The decedent's estate must pay of debts before assets are distributed.

Read more
8/11/13, 6:32 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now