Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in New York

MY MOTHER HAS BEEN JUST ENTERED IN A NURSING HOME DUE TO DEMENTIA. I AM HER P.O.A. AND MY BROTHER LIVES AT HER HOME WHICH IS ALSO IN A LIFE ESTATE. HE WILL BE PAYING ALL BILLS RELATED TO HER HOME, (ie. TAXES, HOME INSURANCE, ETC), BUT NEITHER OF US HAVE ENOUGH MONEY TO PAY HER CREDIT CARD BILLS. SHE CHARGED ALL & I MEAN ALL HER LIVING EXPENSES AND HAS BEEN PAYING MIN. PAYMENTS ON ALL 12 OR SO CARDS EACH MONTH. WITH HER NOW IN A NURSING HOME & MEDICAID PENDING WE HAVE TO GIVE THE NURSING HOME ALL HER INCOME EACH MONTH EXCEPT FOR $50 FOR HER PERSONAL NEEDS. WHAT DO WE TELL THE CREDIT CARD COMPAINES & WHAT CAN THEY DO AS SHE HAS NO INCOME AVAILABLE FOR PAYMENTS. THANK YOU SO MUCH. JAMES

Asked on 3/19/11, 6:56 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Eventually they will seek to obtain a judgment against her. The judgment holder has the right to go against her estate proceeds.

Read more
Answered on 3/23/11, 8:39 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now