Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in New York

My sister recently died, who lived in Detroit Mich, and owns two homes plus a bank acct ( NO WILL) . I live in NYC. Do I need a Michigan lawyer to settle her estate, or can I get a NYC lawyer? I'm the next of kin

Thank you

Asked on 6/16/13, 1:58 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The estate proceeding must be filed where she lived. You need an attorney lic. in Mich.

Read more
Answered on 6/16/13, 2:09 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Scott RiddleLaw Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLCAtlanta, GA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now