Legal Question in Bankruptcy in North Carolina

Debt Collection and Chapter 7

The NCO Group, debt collectors,

contacted me today about collecting

on a credit card account that was

discharged in 1992, Fed Bankruptcy

Court, Wilson NC.

Can they legally do this? Am I

obligated to comply with their

request for information?

I did tell them about the bankruptcy

and they asked for documentation.

This may be an inportant piece of

information. They said the creditor

was ''willing to settle for less'' than

the full amount.

This doesn't pass the sniff test. Any

help you can provide would be great.

Asked on 9/25/07, 2:42 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alexander M. Rosenfeld Rosenfeld & Stein, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Debt Collection and Chapter 7

Do not pay. The actions by the debt collector(s) seem to show a violation of the FDCPA.

Read more
Answered on 9/25/07, 3:50 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88423 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now