North Carolina  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
9/30/09, 9:49 pm

Legal Question


It looks like my home in another state will be foreclosed on soon. It has a mortgage and an equity line. I understand after the foreclosure the mortgage co and equity line co can attempt to collect the leftover loan amounts from me. If that ocurrs, will bankrupcty discharge those? The mortgage is an FHA loan, if it matters. Also, I'm set to marry in a month. My new spouse has nothing to do with the foreclosed home, or with credit cards that are only in my name that would also be discharged - will he be affected by the bankruptcy though? I read when married, even if filing a personal bankruptcy I'd have to disclose his financial info as well. I would put off the marriage if a bankruptcy will affect him in any way.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search