North Carolina  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 10/02/13, 9:19 am

my husband was serving a 15-year federal sentence. it was discovered that the guidelines of who was determined a felon had been wrongly applied in North Carolina (refer to the Simmons case) and hundreds were brought back to court. my husband was one, he eventually was given time served. he actually served over the time given for what his charge was reduced to after resentencing. after being set free, he was brought back into the courtroom on a technicality and told he was being placed on a 3 year supervised release. so he went home, ended up relapsing back into the drug community, and eventually went home with his family in ohio. this of course was outside is assigned jurisdiction. after a few months of being there, he consented to his family informing officials of his whereabouts. he has been arrested and now waiting to be taken back to North Carolina for his hearing. I know each case is specific to the person, but please give me an ideal of what could possibly happen from here. thanks.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search