What are the usual ramifications of a underage possession and consumption of alcohol charge in North Carolina?
1 Answer from Attorneys
You would need to consult a local criminal attorney in the county you were charged in. The outcome of a case like this depends on many factors - here are several of them:
- who the ADA and judge are,
- whether this is your first offense or not,
- what your prior record is,
- whether you were polite to the arresting officer or a jerk,
- how old you were at the time of the offense,
- what you wear to court and how you conduct yourself at court
In some districts you may be allowed to earn a dismissal or a PJC by doing a bit of community service. The charge does carry the potential for jail time however, for most people, the worst you are usually facing is court cost and a fine.
Related Questions & Answers
How much information is required to secure an arrest warrant for an alleged sexual... Asked 8/22/13, 1:35 pm in United States North Carolina Criminal Law
I am 33 years old and live in Lenoir county NC. I have consulted with several... Asked 8/21/13, 9:44 am in United States North Carolina Criminal Law
Are there any rights for a convicted felon who was released 6 years ago and can't... Asked 8/18/13, 5:55 am in United States North Carolina Criminal Law
If someone lies during a murder trial at the behest of a now disbarred DA and wants... Asked 8/16/13, 10:35 am in United States North Carolina Criminal Law
Can an admission of guilt be suppressed, If it was made before you are read your... Asked 8/13/13, 6:20 pm in United States North Carolina Criminal Law