Legal Question in Family Law in North Carolina

What constitues living in a separate residence to begin the separation "clock"? If I move into a separate house that is in my husband's name but he does not live there does that count as a separation or does it have to be a place that is free and clear of his name or anything to do with him?

Asked on 3/18/11, 8:10 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Bob Bollinger Bollinger Law Firm PC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

His name has nothing to do with it. Living "separate and apart" (in separate homes) with no intention to get back together is how you establish the separation period.

Read more
3/18/11, 11:18 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now