Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in North Carolina

How do you garnish wages from a tenant who left the state without paying past due rent? I am in NC and he is no longer in the state. I know how to do the process of eviction (Summary ejectment, etc) but I do not know how to do the next step to be proactive in recuperating rent for the home owner. Thank you

Asked on 6/06/13, 1:27 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Love Ken Love Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

North Carolina does not allow garnishment. Since they have left the state, you need to contact an attorney in the state where they live now and have him domesticate the judgment and try to collect.

Read more
6/06/13, 1:29 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8785 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now