Legal Question in Real Estate Law in North Carolina

My grandmother passed about 20 years ago and I have been living in her home for about 18 years, the taxes have my name on them and I have been maintaining the home. So, how do I get the deed changed in my name?

Asked on 8/25/13, 7:16 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Love Ken Love Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You have to probate her estate. A deed cannot be done as your grandmother is not here to sign it. The only way to get title is through probate.

Read more
8/25/13, 7:18 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88167 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now