Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in North Carolina

Life insurance payment

My son recently passed away. His wife of 17 years was left everything in his will. However, I was the beneficary on his life insurance which he bought before the marrage. I have received the $50,000.00 insurance but now his wife wants me to give the money to her, because of the will. I am in FL, she is in NC.

Question: Does she have any legal claim that would force me to give her the money or any part of it?

Thank you

Asked on 12/29/02, 7:20 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Life insurance payment

No. Since you were the named beneficiary its distribution goes outside the estate.

Read more
12/29/02, 7:26 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88099 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now