Legal Question in Criminal Law in Ohio

Hi, I live in Ohio and I'm a first time offender. I was charged with "corrupting another with drugs" (4th degree felony) and am awaiting my preliminary hearing. I'm wondering if anyone is familiar with House Bill 86 which was passed in late 2011. I'm wondering if that bill protects me from jail/prison due to the new legislation regarding felony F4's and F5's and reducing prison population. The "victim" already stated she didn't feel threatened by me or anything like that. Any advice would be appreciated.

Asked on 12/30/12, 10:23 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Aaron Miller Law Office of R. Aaron Miller
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

House Bill 86 is applicable in your case regarding sentencing. However, it does not provide a guarantee that no jail or prison time will be imposed by the Court.

Read more
12/31/12, 3:44 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Ohio

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now