My son refused to waive his 1st amandment rights and ask for a lawyer and a phone call and was refused both. He was then held in county jail for three days, saw a judge and then released. Is this legal?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Well, the first amendment guarantees persons the right to free speech. I think you might have meant his fifth amendment right to remain silent. The prosecutor has 72 hours to charge him and did not do so. If your son is 18 years or older, they do not have to contact you. He should have been allowed a phone call and counsel though.
Related Questions & Answers
I had my husband arrested for domestic violence a month ago and there is a civil... Asked 5/07/11, 4:10 pm in United States Ohio Criminal Law
I was accused of molesting my younger sister when i was a juvenile, and my parents... Asked 5/06/11, 2:16 pm in United States Ohio Criminal Law
I have got a life treat from my wifes new boyfriend .He wrote me on facebook saying... Asked 5/04/11, 1:05 pm in United States Ohio Criminal Law
What's worse a misdemeanor 1 or a misdemeanor 4 , in the state of Ohio. This is for... Asked 4/30/11, 5:16 pm in United States Ohio Criminal Law
How do you get your court date postponed as long as posable Asked 4/19/11, 12:57 pm in United States Ohio Criminal Law