Legal Question in Family Law in Ohio

childs decision

the question is our daughter is 16 and recently she moved with her mother in sept and now she wants to move back my real question is .is she able to make her own decision? she has lived there since sept of 2006 but wants to move back home where she feels more comfortable.we went threw court because she has never lived there she has always lived with us since birth but the courts seen it as the mother has her rights.but now she has asked her mother and of course she told her no .how could we do this with out going threw as much as we did in the begining.she is not happy there and were trying to give her the proper home living she wants . thank you for your help

Asked on 2/09/07, 6:22 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Frank Rozanc Frank J. Rozanc, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: childs decision

In Ohio, a child cannot make a binding decision as to where she wants to live. If the parties can agree, then anything is possible.

Read more
2/09/07, 9:01 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Ohio

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8661 active attorneys ready to answer your legal qustions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessHuntington Beach, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now