Ohio | Traffic Law
Legal Question
miranda rights
if you are charged for a crime as a minor and the police do not read you your miranda rights can you drop all charges?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Brandabur |
Re: miranda rights Your Miranda Rights are frequently misunderstood. There is no requirement that you be Mirandized (given the Miranda Rights warning) when arrested. If your Miranda Rights are violated, the remedy is suppression of the evidence obtained as a result of the violation. This is known as the "fruit of the poisonous tree" doctrine. This remedy must be requested via a Motion to Supress. General booking questions may be asked without violating Miranda. Furthermore, Miranda warnings only apply to a custodial situation. Most officers will not, nor need to, Mirandize you. |
Top Attorneys in OH
The Jacobs Legal Group
Cleveland, OH
Questions Answered: 1215
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Edward DiCato Attorney at Law
Green, OH
Questions Answered: 758
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-03
T. Hess & Associates, LLC
Cleveland, OH
Questions Answered: 445
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-08
Richard Cline & Co., LLC
Columbus, OH
Questions Answered: 339
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-06
Neil S. Rubin, Attorney at Law, LLC
Twinsburg, OH
Questions Answered: 260
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-21
Attorney at Law
Cleveland, OH
Questions Answered: 225
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-08
Brandabur, Bowling & Crehan Co., L.P.A.
Hamilton, OH
Questions Answered: 101
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-25
Sciangula & Daray
Westlake, OH
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-07
Yavorcik Law Firm
Youngstown, OH
Questions Answered: 46
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-22
Law Office of Joseph T. Burke
Westlake, OH
Questions Answered: 42
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-01-05
Search Questions and Answers


