Ohio  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
9/09/08, 2:57 pm

Legal Question


wills and joint property

My father died recently leaving a very simple will leaving everything to my mother. All assets were jointly owned. She has been to a probate lawyer who has told her that she will need to come back to his office several times, that the house (no mortgage) will need to be appraised, all of her 5 children need to sign affidavits and this will all take around 90 days. Is all of that really necessary? With few assets, a will and a living beneficiary, I assumed the process would be much simpler. Thank you so much in advance for any guidance in this matter.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search