Pennsylvania | Business Law
Legal Question
Dear Attorney,
This question essentially concerns something that occurred in Pennsylvania.
I bought a book online that I did not know was given to a professor for free. I noticed from documents that came with the book that the professor asked for it to be sent to her. Is this book called "stolen property"? By this I mean that was there a condition that it not be sold? If so, as an Orthodox Jew, Rabbi Mordechai Shuchatowitz told me it is forbidden to use, and I'd be forced to get my money back from either the university or the website. I guess I also need to know what to do with the book from a legal perspective, such as sending it anonymously back to the publisher (who also is the copyright holder).
I also need to know if legally I'm forbidden from using it. That may affect Jewish law. (I'd have to ask the rabbi if it would affect the Jewish law in this case. I know by copyright law it does.)
Yaakov


