Pennsylvania | Consumer Law
Legal Question
Account Debit w/o Owner's Knowledge
I subscribed to internet service with AT&T Worldnet at a price of $14.95 per month for unlimited service, which was debited monthly from my checking account. I found out, because my account became overdrawn, that they had debited my account for $333.25. I called, thinking that it must have been a mistake, and was told that since I had not been using a local access number that I was being charged $.10 per minute for every minute spent on my computer. The dial-up number that I was using was one that they provided for me. I would be crazy to use my computer for hours, had I known I was being charged at this rate. I also found out, by checking a previous bank statement, that they had debited my account for $156.00 the previous month. I asked them to investigate my problem and did not even recieve a reply. I called and asked for a mailing address, so I could write them, and was told that they didn't have a mailing address. I cancelled my service and tried to send them numerous e-mails, but none of the e-mail addresses provided can be reached. Can they just keep my money?


