Pennsylvania  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
5/19/08, 2:30 pm

Legal Question


Payment arrangements

My husband just received a notice of a hearing to collect on a past due credit card bill he owes. We are not in a position to pay the entire balance but offered to make monthly payments of an amount we can afford and allow them to draft the monthly payment from our bank account ensuring they get it on time each month. The lawyer's office I contacted (the contact information was in the notice) said that if we didn't pay the entire bill in full today we still have to go to court. Also he said that the amount we offered to pay each month was not acceptable and is asking for a monthly amount that is absolutely impossible to do each month. Can they force us at the hearing to pay this high amount? I know we have mismanaged our finances and we also had some extraordinary circumstances come into play which caused us to default on this obiligation. However, we want to make it right. Do we need a lawyer at this hearing at the magistrates?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search