Pennsylvania | Family Law
Legal Question
Financial Abuse
My question is multidimensional. I am the recipient of a substantial inheritance. I bought the house my husband and I live in, foolishly put his name on the deed and paid for it outright. My husband feels it is my financial 'duty' as his wife to bail him out of debt, so he just takes his credit cards and runs them up to the max. I signed a home equity loan which he is paying 3/4 of now and he is in financial trouble again. I cannot deal with his obsessive spending. He refuses to show me his credit card statements and has nothing to show for it, so I think he may be supporting someone else. He is currently over $20,000 in debt. I want out. I have had it. He is supposed to be getting a 401k loan. He refuses to get help for his spendaholic mental illness. He thinks he's absolved from guilt and that I will always come to his rescue. I refuse to any longer. I need to know whether I can file a protection from abuse based on emotional and psychological cruelty. I need to know what my rights are. I need to know whether I will come out ahead in a divorce. He makes more than I do and I have proof that my inheritance bought the house and most of its belongings. Please help. I am at my wits ends.


