Pennsylvania | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Handgun Intimidation by Crackhead
On my web site crackhead.pitas.com I have photos and 2 mpegs of a crackhead in a neighbors backyard aiming a handgun at my backdoor. Can I sue the neighbor who is hosting this event?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: CHARLES WEINER |
Re: Handgun Intimidation by Crackhead In terms of a simple answer, this seems to be a matter for law enforcement. Based on what you indicated, it sounds like your neighbors has engaged in conduct which violates the criminal code. The civil laws (you suing your neighbor) may not provide satisfactory relief. You may be able to get some type of restraining order. However, in order to obtain a restraining order, police would need to be involved to substantiate that a threat exists.
Other types of civil actions, probably would not provide satisfactory or immediate relief because there are three components to every civil case which are, (1) liability i.e. did the offending party engage in unlawful conduct or conduct for which the law provides relief to the offended party; (2) as a proximate result of the conduct, are there damages or injury to the offended party; and (3) can the offended party collect the damages (monetary award) from the offending party. While the third element is not required to prove your case, if you get a judgement that the liable party cannot pay, the judgement is not worth the paper on which it is written. Unless your neighbor has some assets which can be attached, he/she is judgement proof and a civil action is meaningless. |
Top Attorneys in PA
Law Office of John A. Davidson
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
John W. Gibson, Esquire
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 1712
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-21
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Rosner Law Firm P.A.
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 951
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Law Office of Gerald M. Hershenson
Yardley, PA
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-08
Search Questions and Answers


