Pennsylvania  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
3/17/10, 7:28 pm

Legal Question


My husband and I could not sell our home five years ago when we moved so we opted to rent it out. The insurance company that we have been with for ten years told us , when my husband inquired, that our insurance would cover all, except the contents. Five years later the weight of snow and ice on the attached garage is causing the roof to sag and the beams are cracking. We were told that this is not covered !! However, we are covered for Volcanic Eruption !! We live in northwest pennsylvania for petes sake, we dont have volcanos here !! We are livid b/c we were told that nothing would change and yet now they are saying because it is a rental property and not owner occupied this is not covered !! Yet we were told otherwise five years ago !! Is there anything we can do ??? The insurance adjuster was out to look at it two days after it happened and said it was covered, now it is not ???


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search