Pennsylvania | Employment Law
Legal Question
Non compete law
Is a non compete clause viable if it was made to be signed after I was already employed by the company or at all?
Non compete law
Is a non compete clause viable if it was made to be signed after I was already employed by the company or at all?
|
Read More Answered By: Matthew Kelly |
Re: Non compete law Non-competition agreements in the context of employment arrangements generally have to be entered into at the same time you begin employment. The quid pro quo for your agreeing not to compete is the job offer. This is not to say that they are not enforceable if entered into after that, the question becomes, what did your employer give you in exchange for the promise you made not tp compete. More information from you is needed to answer further. I give free consultations. Call me at 610.647.5800. |
|
Read More Answered By: Roger Traversa |
Re: Non compete law You asked if a non-compete agreement is effective if signed after employment.
Yes. Pennsylvania is an at-will employment state. Therefore the compensation for signing a non-compete, or most any other employment context contract can be seen as your continued employment.
The trick is knowing what and what is not enforceable. If you sign a non-compete and then are fired a week later would you expect that non-compete to be enforceable? How about if the non-compete prevented your from taking any job within the state?
Non-competes are read very narrowly against employees and an employee must prove that there will be an actual harm from competing employment. Your best option is to engage an attorney to review the agreement and your situation to advise you on your options.
I have significant experience in employment law and have worked with these situations from both sides. I would be happy to assist you with this situation.
Regards,
|
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Blue Bell, PA
Questions Answered: 164
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
► Ex employer refusing to pay me wages my ex employer is refusing to pay me the money...
► Congestive heart failure if you worked acompany less a year and have congestive...
► Use of video & audio cameras in the work place I work in a doctors office where...
► ''My Space'' racial slurs about fellow employees It has come to the attention of the...
► After-termination embarassment I was terminated from a health club position after a...
► Termination due to call off I left work sick one day after receiving permission from...
► Unpaid Training Period I am a manager at a food service establishment and my...
More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Pennsylvania| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press