Pennsylvania  |  Employment Law

question bubble
11/06/06, 9:46 pm

Legal Question


Told me terminated, told everyone else resign.

I hada baby, but was not protected by the FMLA, however, I was told by my employer that I could have an unpaid absence and could return when I was released from my doctor. After 6 weeks, I went back to my doctor and was not released for another week. I called and left a message for my supervisor to let her know I would not be returning that week. I called HR half way through the week to let them know I would be returning on monday, and I was told that I was ''terminated''. They then sent me a letter saying that ''they had no other choice but you accept my resignation.'' Then when I applied for unemployment (which I was granted) they tried to appeal. The day before the hearing, they withdrew the appeal, but I was just wondering if they could fire me or if that was wrongful determination. I have letters stating no real timeline as to when I was to return, only the statements ''when I was released from my doctor''. If anyone could let me know if I have a case, I would really appreciate it. Thanks!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search