Pennsylvania | Personal Injury
Legal Question
Dog Attack on 9 year old
My 9 year old stepson had his lips torn viciously by the neighbors dog. The dog was lying out of sight when he went to get something from the yard, there was no gate or fence between our yards. I rode in the amb. with him to hospital where the tears were called ''complex'' and a cosmetic surgeon stiched his lips and area just under the nostril. It was a total of about 115 stitches. I saw a well known lawyer in our town, the consultation was free, and he said that we could do nothing with our case. We left the case along for years. Thru time I realize that his rights were violated, and the lawyer did nothing to help us. Can we pursue a successful suit? and get some compensation for his pain and suffering? He is 20 years old now. We (he) does not expect to collect a million dollars but some reasonable amount. 1. The yard was accessable-no gates or anything separating our back doors.(Row houses) 2. the dog was hidden from sight of boy 3. The dog was vicious by nature ( a pit-mastif mix) 4. The extent of lacerations needing a plastic/facial surgeon, the use of 115 stitches I think that I need to be careful now because, although I never got a ''second Opinion'' so I have been doing some footwork of my own. Thanks for any help


