Pennsylvania  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
8/09/05, 7:51 am

Legal Question


No will, another person says owes money for a vehicle

My son passed away without a will. Now there is a person calling me saying that my son owed him money for a motorcycle that my son bought from him. I do have the motorcycle with a title that just has my son's name on it (no lein holder on it) and a receipt that says my son paid x$ for ''names the motorcycle and serial number'' and signed by this person. There is no mention on the receipt that more money was owed. What recourse does this person have over my family and I? Certainly he would need proof that my son did owe him more money, but he saying my son owed him more than the motorcycle is even valued at, what then? I don't want to pay him more for a vehicle than it is worth but I don't want to lose this vehicle that my son did pay for as my grandchildren should be entitled to it or even get the money back that my son paid that I have the receipt for. So, what can this guy do to my family and what should I do to put an end to the calling for money? Any help in this matter is greatly appreciated.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search