Pennsylvania | Workers Comp
Legal Question
I am currently off work because of a work related injury.How far can yor employer make you travel to a light duty job? and is 147 mi. one way unreasonable?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Terrence Valko |
Sounds unreasonable to me. But jobs are hard to come by. If it pays well and you are being paid portal-to-portal, think about it. If you have to drive on your own time and own dime, then maybe you should be prepared to litigate.
Most legal questions can be answered, "it depends." You have a duty of good faith under the Kachinski cases (Vepco Construction), but a workers' compensation Judge would very likely see the futility of driving 3 hours, working an hour and a half and driving home 3 hours.
However, these matters are fact-dependent, like in the case of a Lineman who installs cable and receives housing and travel allowances.
Your WC Attorney will probably not charge you for discussing the matter in confidence. Just saying the obvious - your employer could read these public boards and you only pay a lawyer one-fifth of what he gets for you.
Here's the good news -- like that Chinese saying that one word means "crisis" and also "opportunity:" the iron is hot and it will soon be time to strike a bargain on a one-time lump sum settlement whereby you and the time-of-injury employer and its carrier settle your WC case.
Call or write if you need counsel.
Good Luck.
TV |
Top Attorneys in PA
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
DIAMONDLAWYER
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 684
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-16
Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
www.workerscomp.tv
Altoona, PA
Questions Answered: 366
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Richard K. Teitell, Esquire, P.C.
Bala Cynwyd, PA
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-31
Cohen, Placitella & Roth, P.C.
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-22
Senker Law Office
Plymouth Meeting, PA
Questions Answered: 236
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Solomon, Berschler, Schatz, & Monaghan, P.C.
Norristown, PA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-09
Warren & McGraw, LLC
Blue Bell, PA
Questions Answered: 164
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Search Questions and Answers


