im on probation for a 2006 arrest, and conviction in '08, in which i got sentenced to 10 years comp. upon the ser. of 5 years in scdc with the added conditions of $2,500.00 in restitution and three years of probation. i agreed to the sentence un der the influence of and anti psychotic and was not really aware of what i was doing. under the normal mind frame i wound not have agreed to the restituion b/c i was found not guilty of stealing the item in question, a shotgun, but was ordered to pay restitution anyway. im unable to pay b/c i dont have a job b/c of crippling health reasons. can a judge or the probation office suspend the requirement that i have to pay this fee or will i keep going back and forth to jail/prison untill i magically find the money to pay? i was assigned community service that i cant do b/c of health reasons, a illness called chronic regional pain syndrom that causes severe pain that renders my arm usless, and cant afford to go to a specialist to get treatment.
1 Answer from Attorneys
Contact all of your doctors, collect all of your medical reports, have your primarly physician type out a letter supporting what you are saying. Immediately contact your attorney and the probation officer and make them aware of this. Provide them with the letter. Don't just ignore it. Its your responsibility to bring all of this to their attention.
Related Questions & Answers
If a person has been convicted wrongfully can the state use the same warrant to try... Asked 7/16/13, 10:49 am in United States South Carolina Criminal Law
A man is found guilty of a crime. The man has served 12 of the 16 years he was... Asked 7/16/13, 1:19 am in United States South Carolina Criminal Law
If I have been accused of a crime and arrested when will it show on my record. Asked 6/27/13, 10:57 am in United States South Carolina Criminal Law
If someone gives you their debit card and pin number and tells you to go get cash... Asked 6/23/13, 9:51 pm in United States South Carolina Criminal Law
I found out my boyfriend scammed me out of $30,000 what can I do about it? Asked 6/18/13, 5:02 pm in United States South Carolina Criminal Law