Texas | Constitutional Law
Legal Question
Police entry into a private home
Do the police have a right to enter a private residence with an arrest warrant and not a search warrant? The person they were seeking was inside the residence alone, asleep and the owner of the property was not at home. The police entered the residence through an unlocked window.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: John Floyd |
Re: Police entry into a private home Entry into property to effectuate an arrest warrant.
Both State and Federal law allow entry onto property for purposes of making an arrest pursuant to a search warrant. In fact, the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure allows for forced entry into a house for purposes of making an arrest, if the officer is refused admittance after giving notice of authority and purpose. However, the United States Supreme Court has held that all searches and seizures must be “reasonable” and in determining the reasonableness of entry into a dwelling may depend on various factors including; officers knocking and announcing their presence, and method of entry into dwelling. In your case in particular, a detailed evaluation of the Probable Cause Affidavit, Search Warrant and the particular facts of your case will determine if this entry was illegal and as a result prohibit admission of any evidence obtained in violation of the law from being allowed in court. If your question is simply whether the police can enter with only an arrest warrant, the simple answer is “yes” if they have real reason to believe that the subject of the warrant is inside the dwelling. However, the entry is limited to acts necessary to effectuate arrest. As always my best advice is to discuss this issue with your lawyer.
TEXAS CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY |
Top Attorneys in TX
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Baez Law Firm, P.C.
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
The Lee Law Firm
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Mathis & Donheiser
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 394
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-09-29
The Practice of Gerald R. Yoakum, P.C. A Full Service Law Firm
Houston & Surrounding Counties, TX
Questions Answered: 342
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-08
Gary Thomas Law Office, P.C.
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 67
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-14
Nemec Law Offices
Fort Worth, TX
Questions Answered: 63
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-08
Paul C. Velte IV, Attorney at Law
San Marcos, TX
Questions Answered: 62
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-01-06
Mark A. Di Carlo
Corpus Christi, TX
Questions Answered: 42
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-27
Singhal & Associates
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-07-19
Search Questions and Answers


