Texas | Criminal Law
Legal Question
question on punishment
I have a friend in jail and I was wondering if you could tell me what is the normal punishment for evading arrest(class B mis)resisting arrest (class c mis) and possession of marijuana (class c mis) with prior misdemeanors?(burglary)
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Barrett McKinney |
Re: question on punishment I think you are a bit off on your penalty classifications for the listed offenses.
Evading arrest of detention is Section 38.04 Tex. Penal Code and can be from a Class B misdemeanor up to a second degree felony depending on the facts of the case.
Resisting Arrest is section 38.03 Tex. Penal Code and ranges from a Class A misdemeanor up to a 3rd degree felony if a deadly weapon is used.
Possession of Marijuana is Section 481.121 of the Texas Health and Safety Code and can range from a Class B misdemeanor up to a 1st degree felony depending on the quantity alleged.
Non-enhanced punishment range for Misdemeanors is: Class A - Up to 1 year in the county jail and up to a $4000 fine. Class B - Up to 180 days in the county jail and up to a $2000 fine. Class C - Up to a $500 fine.
A prior burglary conviction with a trip to TDC would certainly affect any offer from the County or District Attorney.
|
Top Attorneys in TX
Langford Law Firm
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 5365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Law Office of S. Keith Engelke
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 1565
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 1110
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Brashear Law Firm, PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 923
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Baez Law Firm, P.C.
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
The Lee Law Firm
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Bob Leonard Law Group, PLLC
Fort Worth, TX
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
LAW OFFICE OF ERICK PLATTEN
Tyler, TX
Questions Answered: 465
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-27
Law Office of Robert H. Tuthill
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 425
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-28
Search Questions and Answers


