Texas | Criminal Law
Legal Question
I just served on a 12 person jury for a criminal case in a district court. This was my first time to serve on a jury. As the State and Defense "rested", and upon retiring to the jury room, the appointed jury foreman started the deliberation by saying, and I paraphrase, "it's been my experience as jury foreman in several trials, that before we even begin deliberating, we go around the table and take a verbal vote of guilty or not guilty to kind of get an idea of where we all stand, and to see if we are all already on the same page, if everyone agrees to doing this-"
My question is: was this an infraction or inappropriate?


