Legal Question in Immigration Law in Texas

Thank you for your attention. I have been charged with a violation of state law in Texas for not possessing a ticket while riding on a city train (fare evasion). The Notice To Appear document handed to me explains that I may pay the fine ($50) within 30 days in order to "dispose of this case with an administrative resolution without admission of guilt." A sign inside the train informed that if found on board the train without a valid ticket, one "may be charged with a class C misdemeanor." My question is: if I do pay the fine timely and the case is administratively resolved without admission of guilt (as opposed to judicially resolved), does this incident appear on my "record"? Would it be a matter that can be discovered if a background check is performed on me? I cannot tell if this citation is charging me with a class C misdemeanor like the sign informed about - is it indeed a class C misdemeanor?. I am someone who is in the US on an H1B work visa, and therefore am also concerned about whether or not such an issue can impact a future petition for a new H1B work visa after the current one expires, or a petition for a green card.

Thank you again for your time and attention! I shall be grateful for any response and advice I may receive.

Sincerely,

Drew

Asked on 8/11/12, 2:47 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Brian D. Lerner Law Offices of Brian D. Lerner, A Professional Corporation
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Hello:

An adjudication of guilt under immigration law will depend on several factors. Thus, I would need to see the exact documentation you have.

Read more
8/12/12, 11:13 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8805 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now