Legal Question in Employment Law in Texas

Personnel Files Broken into

In short, he is a Maintenance Supervisor for a large beverage company. His confidential HR file was opened by an unauthorized employee and his offer letter was copied and distributed among the plant. After this information came to light, he noticed significant changes in his peers. He is being harassed. He addressed it with Corporate HR and their response was this kind of stuff happens; you will just have to deal with the repercussions for a while. Should being harassed because someone stole you offer letter which is confidential, not protected by law at all?

Asked on 8/25/08, 10:39 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Roger Evans Mathis & Donheiser
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Personnel Files Broken into

He does not have a claim for harrassment. The company might discipline whomever took and copied the letter, but that is a separate issue.

Read more
8/25/08, 12:15 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8661 active attorneys ready to answer your legal qustions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessHuntington Beach, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now