Texas | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
Is there any possible way to hand over an apartment debt and an eviction to someone that was not on your lease? I had a friend living with me but she was not on the lease. My lease was up and i was ready to move and she had begged to stay. She stayed in my apt living month to month. She stopped paying the rent, causing an eviction. I told her she needed to leave but she never did. She changed the locks and continued to live there. I told the apartments the situation and they called the constable to remove her items from the apt. She was later found re-entering the apartment and was taken to jail. The two months unpaid rent, constable, damages, mess, and eviction are all put on me. Can it be passed down to her since i do have a witness of the apartment managers that she was living there and recieving mail??


