Texas  |  Mediation

question bubble
7/09/09, 2:32 pm

Legal Question


Property Dispute

My ex-girlfriend co-signed a lease on a 2007 Toyota Yaris in Richardson, Texas when it was new. We split up a year after the lease was signed. I told her that I would try to get the vehicle re-financed to have her name removed from the lease if it were possible. After discussing the matter with the dealership, it turns out my payment would increase by over $100 or more unless I found another co-signer. I have kept up with the payments and insurance and the dealership has told me that so long as I do this everything would be ok, that in reality I am only helping her credit as well as my own by being on time, NEVER late and maintaining my insurance (full coverage). I've tried re-financing, however, it would bankrupt me to try considering the increased amount of money I would have to pay. She (the ex) told me to just turn the vehicle in, however, according to the dealer-ship, this would be considered a voluntary repossession and $7500 would be applied against my credit. I cannot go without a vehicle, I need to have it to go back and forth to work, and I explained this to my ex, but she has a vendetta, and while I want to accommodate her request to remove her from the lease, I am financially unable to so.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search