Texas | Military Law
Legal Question
Sirs/Ma'ams,
I'm currently a 20 year old in the military, recently married to a 18 year old high school sweetheart, well decorated and hardworking as far as the military career stands thus far. My wife is currently pregnant and I've been rushing her to medical facilities on base to get her taken care of. Recently though a friend of mine brought up a point that started to worry me and i've had no luck looking it up on the internet. She got pregnant when she was 17 and i was 19. Which is legal in both our home state (Indiana) and the state we now reside (Texas), but apparently not legal according to the military laws. We also were not married at the time. If a doctor took some time and looked at her date of birth and her current week of pregnancy they could figure this out. If that doctor wanted to could he prosecute me and get me kicked out of the military under statutory rape? Or does my wife actually have to file and lead the prosectution? (which in this case i'm not worried)


